University of Wisconsin Oshkosh faculty and staff were welcomed and recognized for their accomplishments and contributions at the annual Opening Day assembly in September. Faculty members recognized were: Chad Cotti ’00 (LS), associate professor, economics; Brant Kedrowski, professor, chemistry; Gregory T. Kleinheinz, associate dean/professor, College of Letters and Science; Dana Merriman, professor, biology; Timothy Paulsen, professor, geology; Caryn Murphy, assistant professor, communication; Marguerite Penick-Parks, professor, educational leadership and policy; and Denise Robson, associate professor, economics. Staff members recognized were: Elisabeth (Baggett) Billings ’87 (LS) and ’89 (MSE), counselor/program manager, Financial Aid Office; Malissa Bonlender, dean’s assistant, College of Education and Human Services; Randall Davidson, director of radio services/lecturer, Radio-TV-Film; Traci Luft, operations program associate, Information Technology; Shawn Monroe ’08 (LS) and ’13 (MPA), veterans resource coordinator, Registrar’s Office; Becky Payne ’00 (LLCE), director of operations/assistant to the president, Foundation; MaryBeth Petesch, director of field experience and internships, College of Education and Human Services; and Andy Schumacher ’10 (LS), EAA/Oshkosh Placement Exchange reservation manager, Gruenhagen Conference Center. To read more about the honors conferred on Opening Day and other University news, visit


UW Oshkosh Testing Services Director Duane Goupell received the National College Testing Association (NCTA) Service and Leadership Award at its annual conference in Denver last September. Goupell received the award for his work as chair of the Test Center Certification Committee. He has served as chair of the committee since its beginning in 2008 and has led the group in its work to develop a system for college and university test center certification around the country.


Gregory Kleinheinz, associate dean and professor in the College of Letters and Science, was named the first Viessmann Endowed Chair in Sustainable Technology at UW Oshkosh last September. In this position, Kleinheinz plays a visionary role in bringing the topic of renewable energy technologies to an international level.



Jennifer Watson stepped into UWO’s new associate vice chancellor of faculty and academic staff affairs role in August. She most recently served as associate dean in the College of Letters and Science and associate professor in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures at UW–Milwaukee.





UW Oshkosh announced an agreement with Alta Resources, which supports the UW Oshkosh Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation; the center became the Alta Resources Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (CEI). At UW Oshkosh, the Alta Resources CEI is housed within the College of Business Small Business Development Center.

In June 2014, the John Michael Kohler Arts Center in Sheboygan became the first-ever recipient of UW Oshkosh’s new “Great, Good Place Award.” About 30 UW Oshkosh alumni and partners were on hand at the arts center to join institution leaders for a presentation to UW Oshkosh honorary doctorate recipient Ruth DeYoung Kohler.

Lincoln Hall, which houses the UWO Children’s Learning and Care Center and the Division of Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement, was formally dedicated at an event in September. Lincoln Hall is located at the edge of campus on the corner of Algoma Boulevard and Wisconsin Street. Read more about Lincoln Hall.



The UW Oshkosh Business Success Center’s (BSC) unique aviation and aerospace networking and consulting enterprise, AeroInnovate, has, once again, ascended into some rare air. The seven-year-old BSC offshoot won first place for Leadership and Collaboration at the national University Economic Development Association summit in Santa Fe, N.M., last September.

The UW Oshkosh Class of 1964 returned to campus during spring commencement weekend—May 17, 2014—for their 50-year reunion. The class awarded the first Golden Titan Endowed Scholarship to Samuel Mehlberg, a first-generation college student from De Pere, at a luncheon at the Alumni Welcome and Conference Center. The scholarship was developed to support future generations of UW Oshkosh students.

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) officially approved the ground-breaking, new Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology majors last May. Authorized by the UW System Board of Regents in summer 2013, the three engineering technology majors within the program are collaborative in design and delivery. They were developed by faculty from the 13 Northeast Wisconsin Educational Resource Alliance (NEW ERA) partner colleges and institutions and by leaders of regional businesses, including those within the Northeast Wisconsin Manufacturing Alliance.

Read more University news:


No comments